asebotxt.blogg.se

Who wrote do not stand at my grave and weep
Who wrote do not stand at my grave and weep













who wrote do not stand at my grave and weep who wrote do not stand at my grave and weep

He later incorporated the song into the score for “The Snow Queen.” Originally, Joyce set “Do Not Stand At My Grave and Weep” to music for the funeral of a friend who was diagnosed with cancer.

#Who wrote do not stand at my grave and weep movie#

It appears on the soundtrack for the “The Snow Queen,” a 2005 BBC TV movie developed as a vehicle for a set of operatic songs Joyce composed. Joyce’s version to be especially captivating and haunting. It’s a poem that seems to inspire creativity in musicians of many different genres.Īfter having listened to many (I’m certain not all) of these pieces, I’ve found British composer Paul K. Its lines have even been interpolated with other lyrics. Frye’s wise, comforting lines have been transformed into choral compositions, pop songs, rock songs and folk songs. Many people have asked why I plan to collect my degree and never do this again.Since 1932, when florist and Baltimore-based homemaker Mary Elizabeth Frye wrote “Do Not Stand at My Grave and Weep,” quite a few musicians have felt compelled to set the poem to music. He put the photocopy on the desk, left the newsroom and never came back. Mike wanted neither to be that guy nor to become so callous that he could allow himself to become that guy without caring. They owed their careers to moments like those. Waiting at graves with a notepad and a tape recorder.īut those moments had helped them get there. Asking pointed political questions of men and women who had just seen their spouse carried off an army jet in a casket. Showing up uninvited at grieving families' homes.

who wrote do not stand at my grave and weep

They were the ones who asked hard questions of politicians, who exposed corruption scandals and who went home every night feeling that they'd helped to inform the public.Īnd most of them had memories of their beat reporting days that they wanted to forget. He knew people would see the story in the next day's paper and wonder what would ever have possessed some insensitive git to stake out a murder victim's grave and wait for her family. He was just starting out in this business, yes, and the young blood usually had to push through unglamourous work in order to climb the ladder, but could he do this?Ĭould he invade a grieving family's privacy even to help memorialize their loved one? His editor, unflinching, went back to his desk. "Interview whoever shows up and write a story about it. "We need you to go to the cemetery and wait for her family to show up," he said. His editor handed him a short news article from another paper about the young woman. One of the victims was buried near the city where Mike worked. There is no way I could accurately put it into words. There was this one particularly infamous double murder in the early '90s. He looked up, and the editor handed him a photocopy. This was nothing unusual his editors usually dropped by to ask how his articles were going or to assign something. The editors were nice, he got to write interesting stories and looked forward to coming to work every day. Mike was excited about his summer internship at a major daily newspaper. It is the perfect summary of why I have given up on the profession I've studied for most of my life.

who wrote do not stand at my grave and weep

A friend from school told me this story last fall.















Who wrote do not stand at my grave and weep